Become a Top 1% Programmer

My Secret Tips and Tricks

Hi Coding Geek!

Thanks a million for rallying behind my last newsletter on the epic journey through solving 987 LeetCode questions. Your support means the world to me!

I've received numerous questions about my daily routine and the tools 🛠️ I use to enhance my coding journey. 🚀 

So, in this newsletter, I'll be delving into that and sharing tips on how you can become a top 1% programmer.

The story began when I returned from vacation for the second semester. 🏝️ I realized I was wasting time and got advice from my sister to start coding. 

During COVID, my college went online 😷, so I lacked guidance from seniors.

At first, I used to spend a lot of time on one question, but it didn't help much. 😕 I also found out that I spent 4-5 hours every day on social media.

After discovering all this, I made a plan!  I wake up early, around 6-7, and go for a 20-30 minute walk 🚶 to clear my mind and think about my day ahead.

I made myself a cup of tea ☕️ and kicked off my day by solving 2-3 coding problems.

Then, I attended my classes 📚, and then indulged in lunch and a refreshing nap 😴.

After a nap, I like to dive back into more coding or explore new concepts in programming. 🖥️ After about 2-3 hours of coding, I take a tea break. ☕

After my tea break, I usually like to do a coding contest to test my new skills.

That used to be my daily routine, and it set me apart from other programmers. It helped me stand out 🌟.

Essential Tools That Supercharge Your Development Journey! 🚀

When I was coding, I faced many challenges, such as staying focused. I found some awesome tools that help me boost my performance and stay on track. Some of them are:

  • Leetcode Timer: I use a cool Chrome extension to track how much time I spend on questions. 🕒 It lets me set time limits for easy, medium, and hard questions and gives me alerts if I go over. It helps me manage my time better. 

  • Code Editor or IDE: This tool is amazing! 😊 It helps me save so much time when I'm coding. I can store all my code in one place, making it super convenient. Plus, it helps me debug faster and format my code so it's easy to read and understand. 

  • LC predictor: This is yet another Google Chrome extension. It helped me predict my rating right after the contest ended. This means I don't have to wait 4-5 days to see my progress. It's pretty close to the actual Leetcode rating. 📈

  • Leetcode Forcer: I wish I had found this tool earlier! It's perfect for maintaining your streak or doing daily Leetcode problems. Remember I told you in my last newsletter, how I used to do questions every day? Sometimes I forget, but this extension keeps me on track by redirecting me to that page until I finish it. 🌟

  • Screen Timer: I used to set a timer on my phone, especially for the app I used a lot. It would automatically shut down the app once I went over my daily limit. I recommend all programmers do this too. It saves you time. 🕒

  • Leetcode Big Omega: The Leetcode extension I used to love – it was like the MVP for folks without premium – had this cool feature, showing the company tag. 🌟 

All these extensions and tools help me stand out as a programmer. I hope they help you too! 😊 

If you're interested, I'd be happy to share the YouTube channels and books that I usually rely on during my coding journey. Just let me know, and I'll pass them along to you! 📚

Additionally, you can find more of my content on FavTutor's blogs.

Thanks for Reading! How would you rate today's newsletter?

At FavTutor, we deliver the latest AI news and coding-related content tailored just for you.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.